Reflections on the long journey of becoming a biblical scholar

Some excellent and convicting reflections from Dr. Siu Fung Wu with a charge for academics to be involved in the lived realities of people. His published doctoral dissertation is entitled Suffering in Romans.

Imagine with Scripture

Truth be told, I am an academic by nature (although I am not very smart). I am not a practical person. In high school, I liked Pure Maths, but didn’t enjoy Applied Maths. At University I liked browsing the academic journals in the library. When I finished my BSc (Hons) and MSc degrees, my professors suggested that I should do a PhD. But I didn’t take up their offers because I thought I wasn’t smart enough.

Edward Boyle Library

Then I migrated to Australia and worked in IT. When I turned thirty, I enrolled at a Bible college. I thought God wanted me to serve him, and theological training was a steppingstone to full-time ministry. I started working in my church as a pastor while I was still at college. But meanwhile I discovered (once again!) that I loved academic studies.

Pastoral ministry taught me a lot. I had many opportunities to hear…

View original post 1,603 more words

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

