• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 897 other followers

  • Follow on WordPress.com
  • RSS

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

In the (e)mail (Or, You CAN Teach an Old Dog New Tricks)

Logos 2 Cor

Just a mere months ago I was a total print snob. In addition to far preferring the actual reading/annotating experience of print as opposed to any digital format, there were reasons such as the feel of the covers, the smell of the pages, the beauty of bountiful bookshelves. But through a series of irresistible deals I now have Logos 6 with a bangin biblical studies library (I’m not ready to sell the print books that have been duplicated in Logos, though. I’m very much attached to my beautiful, bountiful bookshelves). And I must admit….having thousands of books literally at my fingertips at all times (including essential commentary series such as PNTC, NIGTC, and BECNT) is pretty amazing. I was once made fun of for my aversion to technology, but…well, who’s laughing now? Me. With my unbelievable, albeit digital, library.

Anyway, as final evidence that I am no longer a Luddite, I will be reviewing one of the newest additions to the Pillar New Testament Commentary series, Mark Seifrid’s volume on 2 Corinthians. I never thought that, given the choice, I’d choose a digital book to review as opposed to print. But given that I own the Logos 15-volume PNTC set through my base package, the portability of digital books, and power of Logos 6, it made sense to continue and eventually complete the series in Logos.

The question that Paul set before the ancient church in Corinth—“Do you not recognize that Jesus Christ is in and among you?” (2 Cor 13:5)—remains a critical question for the church today. This commentary by Mark Seifrid seeks to hear Paul’s message afresh and communicate it to our time.

Seifrid offers a unified reading of 2 Corinthians, which has often been regarded as a composite of excerpts and fragments. He argues that Paul’s message is directed at the “practical atheism” of the Corinthian church—the hidden heresy that assumes God’s saving work in the world may be measured by outward standards of success and achievement.

In the Logos edition, this volume is enhanced by amazing functionality. Important terms link to dictionaries, encyclopedias, and a wealth of other resources in your digital library. Perform powerful searches to find exactly what you’re looking for. Take the discussion with you using tablet and mobile apps. With Logos Bible Software, the most efficient and comprehensive research tools are in one place, so you get the most out of your study.

Thanks to Logos/Faithlife for the review copy!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Love my logos 6 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Spencer

     /  April 23, 2015

    I really wanted Gold, but went with Silver. Yet it’s Gold that has the three commentary series that I want.

    Like

    Reply
    • Spencer, are you aware of the Facebook group Logos Resales? you should join and keep an eye on it to see if anyone sells any of those series or other collections you’re interested in. That group was my major entryway into Logos – someone sold their entire Library (Gold plus tons of other goodies I wanted like Bavinck’s Reformed Dogmatics, most of the current volumes in BECNT, etc.) for less than the price of Silver!

      Like

      Reply
  3. RGB Rao

     /  April 23, 2015

    ~ The 3D stuff that Logos has got started on is already and will be even more mind boggling amazing in the future. IMO, the future of academics lies in this direction. It better!

    What they are currently working on as per the videos that I have seen should develop into some pretty far out there amazing stuff.

    ~ Also an aside… theologoumenon – It is interesting to read the history of revivals and see how they spread. I think that what the future holds is that revivals will spread by way of the internet.

    ~ Jar

    Like

    Reply
    • Revivals are already spreading by way of internet 🙂 what you said about the future of academics lying in this direction reminds me of something I saw shortly after the public announcement of Google Glasses. I think it was on CT, but I’m not sure. They were talking about how something like Google Glasses can revolutionize biblical studies by seamlessly integrating all your resources across all your print/digital platforms. It doesn’t sound like much the way I’m describing it, but the video was pretty cool.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

