• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 897 other followers

  • Follow on WordPress.com
  • RSS

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

The Passing of Charles Cranfield (1915-2015) – A Fond Remembrance (Gupta)

See also this post by Ben Blackwell from 2008: Coffee with Charles Cranfield (HT John Byron)

Crux Sola

CranfieldThe sad news was circulated today that Prof. Charles Cranfield (Emeritus, Durham) has passed away (1915-2015). It was about seven years ago that I sat in his home and had tea with him, while we talked about Romans, theology, getting old, and politics. I had a look back on my notes from my conversation with him and what strikes me is how warm and pastoral he was. He has left a great legacy in his written works. He wrote on many subjects, including excellent commentaries on Romans and Mark, but in more recent years I have become fond of his little book The Apostles’ Creed: A Faith to Live By. Something to check out if you haven’t read it yet.

I am re-posting here my notes from my time with Prof. Cranfield in 2008 as part of my fond remembrance.

1. Professor Cranfield, do you have any (new) thoughts…

View original post 850 more words

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

