• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 897 other followers

  • Follow on WordPress.com
  • RSS

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

Book Log: December 2014

You may have already noticed that the reviewing has slowed way down on my blog; and I’m reading less books as well. Part of this has to do with the fact that I’m reading some big books (e.g. Howard Marshall’s NT Theology, Boring’s NT Introduction, Bavinck’s Reformed Dogmatics, etc.). Another reason is that I need to spend more time on Greek. Thus far I’m still not spending enough time on Greek – it’s really hard to resist the temptation of books. And with review copies, of course I want to provide timely quality reviews. A year ago I couldn’t believe that some bloggers were outsourcing reviews (i.e. giving away review books to other bloggers willing to review them), but I think I might be getting close to doing the same. At the very least, I need to impose (my second, actually) a requesting ban on myself for at least two months.

So last month I didn’t read many books cover-to-cover. Here is a rundown of the few that I read.

  1. Urban Apologetics: Why the Gospel is Good News for the City – Christopher Brooks. I’ve pretty much loved apologetics for as long as I’ve been a Christian. But I’ve also found that in the context of urban evangelism and ministry, I often feel at a loss. That’s why I was intrigued by this book. It definitely makes a lot of good points and is a good read for culturally suburban Christians desiring a window into the inner city. However, I’m not quite sure about this book as an apologetics book. Full review here.
  2. Paul & Judaism Revisited: A Study of Divine and Human Agency in Salvation – Preston Sprinkle. This book is a study comparing and contrasting Paul’s soteriology with the soteriology of the DSS, examining five motifs: restoration from the curse of the law, the eschatological spirit, anthropological pessimism, justification, and judgment according to works. The goal is to see how the two understood divine and human agency in salvation. Full review here.
  3. The Man Christ Jesus: Theological Reflections on the Humanity of Christ – Bruce Ware. The typical Christian has probably not thought too much about the humanity of Christ. In this short, lay-accessible biblical and theological introduction to the humanity of Christ, Ware demonstrates that Christ’s humanity was also integral to His mission. Application points and discussion questions at the end of this chapter also make this a great book for small group use. Full review here.
  4. Father, Son and Spirit: The Trinity and John’s Gospel – Andreas Kostenberger and Scott Swain. I’ve read a small handful volumes in the IVP Academic’s fine New Studies in Biblical Theology series, but this is the first one I’ve read that integrates biblical theology with another discipline, in this case, systematic theology. Part 1 sets the historical context of the Fourth Gospel and Jewish monotheism with a notable EHCC flavor, drawing on the work of Bauckham and Hurtado. Then Part 2 covers biblical foundations, and part 3 theological reflections. I’m always happy to see works that integrate biblical and systematic theology, and Father, Son and Spirit is an enjoyable and profitable read.
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. rgbrao

     /  January 7, 2015

    Quick comment as I read some Boring stuff recently also… haha. Sorry. Boring is one of those few guys who actually makes a distinction between faith and belief. Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

