Calling All Biblio/Theo Geeks!

In case it’s not obvious, I’m kind of a biblical/theological studies nerd. But I’ve never formally studied it, nor am I currently a student of any sort. Thanks to social media and the rise of “biblioblogs,” I’m able to keep up with some of the things going on in the academic world. But one thing that’s always brought me to the verge of tears is the fact that I can’t access the papers students and scholars tweet and blog about. Or so I thought.

I just realized that I can access UA’s research databases! I’m surprised that my login information has not expired since I graduated 3 years ago, but I’m ecstatic. I am so excited right now that I can hardly focus on doing my work. I can’t wait to download/read papers. So, here’s where you all come in. Please comment with some “must-read” papers in anything related to biblical and theological studies; my interests are pretty broad (although I’m partial to NT studies in general and, to Jim West’s horror, Pauline studies). Yes, I will be downloading every paper ever published in the JSNT 😀

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. anything by bultmann. anything by brunner. and this- Kurt Aland, “The Problem of Anonymity and Pseudonymity in Christian Literature of the First Two Centuries,” JTS n.s. 12 (1961) 39-49.

    THAT essay is SO important.

    Like

    Reply
  2. I don’t know if these are ‘must read’ but they are some of my recent favorites that I found interesting and thought-provoking:

    Beverly Gaventa, “Is Galatians Just a Guy Thing?” Interpretation (July 200) and “Reading for the Subject: The Paradox of Power in Romans 14:1-15:6,” Journal of Theological Interpretation 5.1 (2011) 1-12

    Richard B. Hays, “Reading the Bible with Eyes of Faith: The Practice of Theological Exegesis,” Journal of Theological Interpretation LI (2007) 5-21 [I do think this one is a must read for sure]

    John Barclay, “Food, Christian Identity and Global Warming: A Pauline Call for a Christian Food Taboo,” The Expository Times 121(12) 585–593

    Michael J. Gorman, “Paul and the Cruciform Way of God in Christ,” Journal of Moral Theology, Vol. 2, No. 1 (2013): 64-83

    Morna D. Hooker, “On Becoming the Righteousness of God: Another Look at 2 Cor 5:21,” Novum Testamentum 50 (2008) 358-375

    Like

    Reply
  3. Jim beat me to saying Bultmann. I’d add anything by Bauckham and Hurtado.

    Like

    Reply
  4. How about this one:
    “When Hope Screams: Learning How to Suffer as Sons from the Book of Hebrews,” Southwestern Journal of Theology 53 no 2 Spr 2011, p 112-134.

    Okay, seriously now, the following articles are really important for one particular strand of the “canon debate” in recent years. They were important for my dissertation work:

    Dempster, Stephen. “Canons on the Right and Canons on the Left: Finding a resolution in the Canon Debate.” Journal Of The Evangelical Theological Society 52, no. 1 (March 1, 2009): 47-77.

    Chapman, Stephen B. “The Canon Debate: What it is and Why it Matters.” Journal Of Theological Interpretation 4, no. 2 (September 1, 2010): 273-294.

    Kruger, Michael J. “The definition of the term ‘canon’: exclusive or multi-dimensional?.” Tyndale Bulletin 63, no. 1 (January 1, 2012): 1-20.

    Happy Reading!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Thanks, everyone! I’m excited to read all your suggestions. Anyone who sees this post in the future, feel free to comment with must-reads and/or some of your favorite papers.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

