• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 916 other followers

  • Follow on WordPress.com
  • RSS

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

Let the Christology Showdown Commence!

About a week ago I received How God Became Jesus: The Real Origins of Belief in Jesus’ Divine Nature – A Response to Bart D. Ehrman. See here for my introductory post, including the TOC which can’t be seen on Amazon yet the last time I checked. Trust me, you need to buy this book.

It’s been difficult, but I have thus far refrained from reading it because I wanted to read and review Ehrman’s book before reading the response. Well, last night Ehrman’s book arrived! The funny thing is that I didn’t check my doorstep for packages last night after getting home from work, but at around 11:00PM I saw on Twitter Greg Monette’s interactions with the book, which prompted me to check my doorstep. And voila, there was Ehrman’s book! I’ve been excited about the response book ever since Michael Bird’s big reveal on his blog in January. These are some of the most illustrious Christian Jesus scholars in the world.   Let the battle begin! This is an epic showdown. I heard Rambo music in my mind as I opened the Ehrman book and set it up with Bird et al’s response book for the photo below.

Christology Book War

Oh, and below is the TOC for Ehrman’s book. It’s only fair that I post it, right? Stay tuned, the reviews are coming in a few weeks.

Ehrman

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Thank you for the TOC for both books. I look forward to your reviews!

    Like

    Reply
    • Looking forward to your reviews as well, Lindsay! I almost feel like we could organize our own blog tour, haha.

      Like

      Reply
      • Lindsay

         /  March 28, 2014

        I know! I am still trying to figure out the best way to review this book (blog series, one off review, interaction with Bird’s book, etc) but I’m sure between us bloggers we could have come up with something cool

        Like

        Reply
  2. I got to get a hold of both books sometime..

    Like

    Reply
  1. How Jesus Became God Became Jesus : My Digital Seminary
  2. Inside the Christology Showdown – An Interview with ZonderBird |
  3. 2014 In Review – Most Popular Blog Posts |

Leave a Reply

