A Disheartening Start

I’ve been excited about the 3M conference ever since finding out about it a few short months ago. And it has cost quite a bit of money to go. And now…I’m going to miss around 1/3 of it [including 3 out of 7 plenary sessions] due to a flight cancellation. I am quite unhappy about this, but I’m also trying really hard to not be upset about it. In the grand scheme of things this is so minor. Seriously, first world problems! Am I really grumbling about this in the midst of mass shootings, human trafficking, children starving to death, children brainwashed & abused in every form possible & forced to fight unjust wars?? Perspective check. I am so blessed.

I think most sane people would have gone home…but I’m camping out here at CLE. I actually really wanted to do some hardcore journaling right before the conference but didn’t have a chance. So with my headphones, journal & Bible, I’m turning a little nook of the airport into an introvert haven 🙂

If you’re so inclined, I would truly appreciate prayer in the next few days. I have never before attended a conference not geared toward students, so I think this will be a very unique experience. This is a Christian conference for Chinese young professionals and focuses on integrating faith and vocation and serving as a layperson. 3M stands for marketplace, marriage, and ministry.

I’m also considering cutting myself off from technology once I get there (except for absolutely necessary phone calls related to the conference). In that case, I won’t live-tweet, live-blog, etc…but I will update when it’s over.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

