• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 898 other followers

  • Follow on WordPress.com
  • RSS

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Categories

Blessed Bibline Blood

It is blessed to eat into the very soul of the Bible until, at last, you come to talk in Scriptural language, and your spirit is flavored with the words of the Lord, so that your blood is Bibline and the very essence of the Bible flows from you.

~Spurgeon~

I am constantly disheartened by how “unbibline” my blood is, despite how much Scripture is in my head. This is why I am afraid to memorize more Scripture. I fear that I would just be heaping condemnation upon myself if I allow the chasm between my head and my heart, my knowledge and my life to grow exponentially wider.

I don’t know if something is terribly wrong with me; given how much I recite and meditate on and pray Scripture, there should be much more fruit, much more spiritual victory…I think. I shoudn’t be this messed up internally, experiencing so little growth in character, and bearing so little external fruit.

The sermons from Act The Miracle have just been posted…maybe I’ll find some much-needed help in those words.

O Lord, grant me ever-increasing bibline blood!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Cherec

     /  October 5, 2012

    Hey, Jen! I love you!

    Heaping condemnation on yourself for memorizing scripture? Nah, girl. You’re being faithful! Call me, I’d love to talk. I miss you!

    Like

    Reply
  2. No, not heaping condemnation on myself for memorizing Scripture, in and of itself, but for more and more not living according to the light I possess. Maybe I’m mistaken, but it’s a terrifying thing to me. Miss you too 🙂 Let’s set up a skype date soon!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

